Healing, Working, Rafting…not necessarily in that order.

A few weeks ago, I was hired on at the local resort to do housekeeping. I’ll not hedge about my age. But I’m almost 50. Such hard work has been hard on my old body. So, after suffering through 2 weeks of tendonitis in my lower leg, aching hands and sore muscles, I can say that I’ve lost about 4 pounds and a few inches of body fat. I think I’m finally getting used to it though. I sure hope so, because if not, I’m going to have to invest in Tylenol, Motrin and Aleve stock.

It has been a very busy couple of weeks at the resort though. We had a huge group of 300+ adults and their 300+ filthy, dirty, messy children to clean up after. Some of those rooms looked like oatmeal bombs went off. And, you know what happens to oatmeal when it’s sat for days. It’s worse than super glue! After they left, we have bikers for the Colorado Freeride Festival. They don’t leave until tomorrow, so I have no idea how the rooms are after that group.

Last Monday was our 30th Wedding Anniversary. I had wanted to go camping, but due to lack of days off and tendonitis, I knew we couldn’t do that. Besides, I had to ask for the ONE day off. Thankfully, our friend Miles has a riverboat! He offered to take us down the Colorado River for the afternoon. We had SUCH a great time! I can honestly say it was the best Anniversary we’ve ever had.

Enjoy the photos!

Next week, since my leg is feeling better, we’ll do some easy hikes up the hill behind the house. I feel such a need to be out in the woods after being stuck inside with all these guests at work.

Check out our little Rufous Hummingbird. They’re quite entertaining, territorial and chasing all the other birds around. They were not rafting with us, however.

Until next time, peace, love and Paleo!

2 thoughts on “Healing, Working, Rafting…not necessarily in that order.

Leave a Reply

