Cooking in Colorado!

Here I am in Colorado, up in the Rockies and the snow! My first real recipe since I’ve been here is as follows:

Spicy Sauteed Kale with Lemon

(from the Food Everyday magazine by Martha Stewart)

1 tbsp olive oil

1 jalapeno pepper, sliced thin

1 lemon, thinly sliced, seeded and quartered

1 tbsp honey

2 bunches of kale (1 1/2 pounds) coarsely chopped

6 scallions cut into 2 inch pieces

course salt

In a large skillet, heat oil and jalapeno pepper over medium high. Add lemon & honey and cook, stirring until lemon begins to break down. (about 2 minutes) Add Kale and cook, stirring until wilted, about 3 minutes. Add scallions, season with salt, and cook 1 minute.

This was quite tasty, if a bit too lemony. I’m going to adjust the recipe a little bit next time. It’s hard to determine how hot the jalapeno would make it. I may opt for chili flakes next time so I can be more precise with the heat. I’m also going to cut the lemon quantity in half. As for cook time, I cooked the kale a bit longer than recommended. I don’t like it tough and chewy. It was still tender crisp and could’ve been cooked a bit longer. All in all a good recipe! I served mine with bison burgers with cheese.

Leave a Reply

